Not so fast there big guy

Last week was a big one in my ongoing effort to lose weight and get in better shape because I finally cracked the 20-pounds-lost barrier.  When I saw my steadily-diminishing weight pop up on the bathroom scale I kind of felt like Sly Stallone at the end of “Rocky II” when the big lug finally beats Apollo Creed.  “I DID IT!”

That 20 pound mark had become a minor obsession over the past few weeks and I have to admit that I gave myself a little pat on the back for nailing it by ramping up my daily walks.

I’ve been tracking my weight for more than 5 years and this is the lightest I’ve ever been in that time span.  Pants and shorts that haven’t been able to wrap themselves around my pale, fuzzy gut for years finally fit again.  My neighbor, who I almost never talk to, told me last weekend that she’s noticed recently that I’m a lot thinner than I used to be.  Positive feedback doesn’t get much better than that.

But then I pushed it a little too far.  Feeling like a victorious Rocky Balboa after reaching a personal goal is awesome and I recommend it to everyone.  But when you’re an overweight, out of shape middle aged dude who hasn’t jogged in more than half a decade you should err on the side of caution when “Gonna Fly Now” starts playing in the back of your head and you decide, “The hell with this bland daily walk, I’m going to break into a run!”

Because that’s just what I did early this week and I’ve been paying for it ever since.

Sore back, sore legs and knees.  In short, I felt like I was hit by a truck.  In fact, if I had to tie this in to a Rocky movie (FYI: I can tie almost anything in to a Rocky movie) I’d say that I felt like Rocky right after he got his ass whipped during his first fight with Clubber Lang in “Rocky III.”

But just like the Italian Stallion in Rocky III — the mother of all Rocky sequels — I’ve taken some time to lick my wounds and gotten back into the ring.  After a day off I jumped back into my nightly walks and took my longest one yet last night.

At some point I’m going to have to let go of my nightly walks when it gets too cold and dark and finally hop on the elliptical trainer in our back room.  I’ve owned that thing for more than 2 years and I’ve only spent 5 minutes on it because there’s no TV in that room and I feel like a hamster on a wheel mindlessly running to nowhere.

But now that I have an iPad I think I can make the elliptical work if I play this while I’m trying to burn some calories:

 

Like I said, there’s always a way to work Rocky into the conversation.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

